The small pedestrian street of Las Lonjas is one of the most picturesque corners of Puerto de la Cruz, with a flavour of by-gone days. Its cobbles lead from the area around the Town Hall to the harbour. Its name is derived from the market which supplied the town with fish. At present one of the old buildings, the home of the Fishermen’s Association, is being restored. Next to it is one of the many chapels with a cross, scattered throughout the town, the Fish Market Chapel. Erected in 1821, it was financed by the seamen who fished off the coast of Africa.